In double overtime of the Chicago Blackhawks vs. Anaheim Ducks game late last night, this happened. Andrew Shaw … headbutted?!?!!?! in what everyone thought was the game-winning goal.
After further review, it was overturned…? Is there even any legislation in place in regards to such matters? Well, the answer is yes:
Here's the rule pic.twitter.com/MOW04OPGYb— E.J. Hradek (@EJHradek_NHL) May 20, 2015
I imagine this law can be found in the “Absurd situation” chapter of the Hockey rule book, right next to: “If a bald eagle swoops in, grabs the puck with its talons, and drops it in the net … does the goal count?”
Anyways: Hockey is fun, but, I think we can all agree that Hockey would be REALLY fun if headbutting pucks in was permitted.